top of page
  • Writer's picturePolina Kazymyrivna Ivanchenko

Visiting a Romantic Destination Alone in Seychelles

Updated: Sep 30, 2021


“Your water, miss,” the waiter said, flourishing a large bottle of sparkling water on my table at one of the Seychelles honeymoon resorts.


“Do you have any... smaller bottles?” I stumbled. “I'm the only one here.”


He appeared perplexed at first, then unsure of what to say. They didn't have any smaller bottles of water, but I could bring them back to my room with whatever I didn't drink.


So, after finishing my dinner alone and signing for the massive bottle of water, I carried back more than half of it to my room. On this vacation, I had a hunch I'd be drinking a lot of sparkling water.


Since I started traveling seriously in 2016, I've mostly traveled alone. I enjoy solo travel because it allows me to do whatever I want, whenever I want, and it makes me feel accomplished.


But I'd be lying if I said I've never had an unpleasant moment while traveling alone as a woman. For me, most of the embarrassment occurs in restaurants or when booking an activity that is generally reserved for couples or families. And this uneasiness is exacerbated when I visit a country where there aren't many solitary female visitors, such as Seychelles.


Alone in Seychelles


The majority of people associate this island nation with white sand beaches, turquoise oceans, honeymooners, and breathtaking wedding venues in Seychelles.


Yes, Seychelles has been marketed primarily as a romantic destination. Couples massages and private plunge pools are available at resorts, while beach loungers on the sand and surrounding the pool are usually always arranged in pairs.


It may not be the first destination that comes to mind when you think of a solitary journey, but the truth is that you can go anywhere alone and have a great time.


I've been alone to some of the world's most romantic destinations, including Paris, Venice, Tahiti, Santorini, and now the Seychelles. While there will always be people who ask, "You're traveling alone?" on these vacations, the truth is that you may have a fantastic time on your own even if you are staying in one of the romantic wedding resorts in Seychelles.


I don't believe that some places can only be visited with a partner. Ladies, life is far too short to sit around waiting for a man to whisk you away to some exotic location!


In the Seychelles, I had complete independence on the beaches of Praslin and La Digue, ate numerous great dishes of seafood without having to worry about my husband's calamari aversion and took pictures with everything from tortoises to coco de mer nuts. I'm not going to lie: having a king-sized bed to myself in every hotel did not make things even better.


The Seychelles offer much more than just beaches. Hiking in a national park, marveling at jungle vegetation, learning about tortoise conservation, and taking boat cruises to see the beautiful shoreline are all options. Seychelles, like many other historically romantic destinations, is not a "couples-only" vacation; you simply need to hunt for the solo-friendly areas.


How to have fun in a romantic setting solo


Assume you wish to travel alone to a romantic destination such as the Seychelles. What's your way of achieving this? Here are some of my suggestions for making the most of a vacation like this.


1. Look for hotels/resorts that offer a variety of features that you are interested in.


You may not be interested in couples massages or complimentary champagne for two (though it can always be complimentary champagne for one, right?? ), but hotels and resorts may include other amenities that will be interesting to you as a single traveler.


Other things I look for include good hotel pools, a variety of neighboring or on-site restaurants, and, of course, pretty nice rooms! (Because even if I'm not with my honey, I can appreciate a big comfortable bed and a deep soaking tub!)


With that, the Beach Pool Villas of Story Seychelles is perfect for a solo traveler. These Beach Pool Villas are both lavish and large, combining real Seychellois elegance with the finest in sophisticated modern décor.


They provide a haven inside a haven, with a private pool, pool deck, and cabana that all lead directly to Beau Vallon Beach. The bathroom leads to a second private terrace, providing a completely natural bathing experience in the standalone bathtub or the indoor and outdoor showers.


The bedroom is dominated by a king-size bed with a draped cotton canopy, which is flanked by a chaise lounge and leisure space, as well as a dining table.


2. Do your research on solo-friendly excursions and activities.

The disadvantage of traveling alone to resorts or on cruises is that many trips and excursions are planned specifically for couples. Unfortunately, solo supplements apply in some cases, and some trips will not run if you are the only person on the reservation. This has happened to me previously, and it's quite inconvenient.


So, before you leave home, do some homework to avoid any problems. Look for activities and trips that have set departure times or don't demand a minimum number of passengers. (Or, if the destination is within your budget, book a personalized trip!)


3. Don't be afraid to ask for a table for one.


I'll admit that even after years of solo travel, I still get uncomfortable about eating alone in restaurants. I think it best to remind myself that I'm at a place where no one knows me, so why shouldn't I be self-assured and fabulous enough to request a table for one? Yes, you might have to signal the waiter who hasn't yet arrived at your table since he thinks you're still waiting for someone.


And certainly, because the quantities aren't built for one, you may end up ordering more food (or sparkling water) than you require... Who cares, though! If dining alone makes you feel uncomfortable, I recommend sitting at the bar instead or taking a book or Kindle with you.


4. Let go of stereotypes and have a good time!


At the end of the day, you need to get past the notion that you link specific destinations with romance - any destination can be enjoyed solo if you approach it with the correct mindset. Consider it this way: you're treating yourself to a vacation; don't be afraid to set aside some time for self-care and pampering.


Get a single massage, indulge in sumptuous treats, and take a sunset beach walk alone. We all need to treat ourselves now and then, and going on a single trip to a "romantic" location can be a terrific way to do it.

28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page